Website Manager

Rocky River Soccer Organization

Clifford and Judy Hanson Memorial Scholarship

   The Clifford and Judy Hanson Memorial Scholarship was created by RRSO to honor the rich heritage and tradition of Rocky River Soccer. RRSO recognizes both male and female high school senior athletes who have demonstrated a commitment of excellence in academics, athletics, and community service.
   The Clifford and Judy Hanson Memorial Scholarship seeks to reward students striving to develop their individual talents to further the common good of their team and community. Scholarships are presented each year at the high school’s recognition assembly in May. The scholarship carries the names of Clifford and Judy Hanson, a wonderful husband and wife duo who gave more than 35 years of dedicated service to soccer in Rocky River.
   With Judy as his spotter, Cliff announced high school boys soccer games for 25 years. Their son Scott was a RRHS varsity team captain in 1982. Cliff also served Rocky River soccer as an RRSO coach and RRHS boys junior varsity coach.  In 1995, Cliff and Judy were presented with the sixth annual RRSO Soccer Appreciation Award.  Before his death in 2012, Cliff assisted in the presentation of these annual scholarships at the HS awards assembly. 

Scholarship applicants will be judged on academics, soccer playing ability, and community service.

Applicants must: 

• Have played a minimum of three years in the Rocky River Soccer Organization (RRSO).

• Be a high school senior and a member of their respective school’s varsity soccer team.

• Have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better.

• Plans to continue their post-secondary education.

• Have demonstrated active interest in community or civic activities.

If you are a student who believes you fit this description, we invite and encourage you to to apply for the scholarship. 

Application deadline: April 1, 2024

Download an application form here. 

The scholarship is a one-time award of $2,000.

Completed Applications should be emailed to RRSO President Danny Rose at [email protected].

Please put “RRSO Hanson Memorial Scholarship  Application” in the subject line for the email.


1996                Kevin Fiala                                           Rachel Mellot

1997                                        - No scholarships given -

1998                Ankur Garg, J.P. Ratajczak                 Katie Fiala, Kim Dobler

1999                Allen Rickard                                       Jessica Bacon

2000                Charlie Andrews                                  Sarah Jurak

2001                Ryan Burke                                         Jennifer Bracken

2002                Nicholas Molnar                                   Kathleen McCreary

2003                Kevin Tuisku                                        Meredith Turk

2004                Elliot Wheeler                                       Molly Leitch

2005                Jordan Gourash                                 Anne Jaworski

2006                Timothy Molnar, Robert Perry             Debra Leitch

2007                Michael Clifford                                    Meredith Gourash

2008                David Rea                                           Courtney Van Atta

2009                Sam Ryan, Denio Leone                     Justine Beres 

2010                Brendon Hall                                       Sophia Liva, Olivia Vitou

2011                Ian Taylor                                          Kasey Killeen, Megan McFarland

2012                Ryan Connelly                                    Kim Leitch

2013                No Applicants                                     Hallie McCue

2014 Trent Newby     Grace Bennett

2015 Chase Newby, Nathaniel O'Halla Jillian Krebs

2016 Kyle Moore, Mark Hoelzer     Emily Soltes

2017                Jonah Wischmeier                             Laura DeVito

2018              Dylan Keeling                                     Olivia McDonald

2019 Owen Jaite Allison Contenza

2020                                        - No scholarships given -

2021                                        - No scholarships given -

2022 Hogan Kern Taylor Byall

2023 Nathyn Marius Cara McKenna


Rocky River Soccer Organization

PO Box 16276 
Rocky River, Ohio 44116

Email: [email protected]

Contact Us

Rocky River Soccer Organization

PO Box 16276 
Rocky River, Ohio 44116

Email: [email protected]

Copyright © 2024 Rocky River Soccer Organization  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Log In